AABB Announces Slate of Nominees for 2019-20 Board of Directors

By Archive User posted 07-09-2019 09:11 AM


The 2019 Nominating Committee is pleased to present the slate of candidates for the 2019-20 AABB Board of Directors. The slate includes the Committee's recommendations to fill the officer positions for 2019-20: David Green, MSA, for president-elect; Dana Devine, MA, PhD, for vice president; and Steven Sloan, MD, PhD, for secretary. The slate also contains nominees for open at-large director positions, including Clifford Numark, MSc, MPA, JD, for position #1; Raymond Goodrich, PhD, and Jerry Holmberg, PhD, MS (Path, CLS), MT(ASCP), SBB, for position #5; and Jose Cancelas, MD, PhD, and John Hagins for position #7. Current Board members Richard Schäfer, MD, PhD (position #3) and Steven Spitalnik, MD, PhD, (position #9) are on the slate for re-election. 

Per AABB's bylaws, members can submit additional nominees for the open at-large director positions using a petition process. Instructions for submitting a nomination by petition and related forms are available on AABB's website. To be added to the ballot, petitioners must submit authorized signatures from at least 1% of the Association's individual members and institutional member contacts, calculated as of June 30 of the previous year. (This represents 75 members this year.) The last day to nominate a member by petition is Aug. 23 at 11:59 pm ET.

By Sept. 6, ballots will be distributed to all AABB members in good standing as of the record date (June 30). Voting will end on Oct. 7. The new Board of Directors will be inaugurated at the annual business meeting, which will take place during AABB's 2019 Annual Meeting — to be held Oct. 19-22 in San Antonio, Texas.